Origins and brief history of Mitchelstown Rugby Club

The seeds were sown in the spring of 1996, when the ever present Community Games organizer Seamus Fox asked Owen Dawson if there was any possibility that he could get a team of under 11 players ready for the community games rugby competition.

The link between the two sportsmen was that they had sons of the same age and Colm Dawson was sent on a recruitment drive in the CBS primary school where he was a pupil. Eventually a squad was rounded up and training was organized. The principal of St. Fanahan’s College, Niall O’ Donoghue (RIP) volunteered the use of the plot of ground adjacent to the school sports hall and using corner flags made from multi-colored plastic pipes a pitch was marked out and battle commenced.

Owen and his wife Kay and a group of parents including Harry Kinsella, Kathryn Walsh, Aine O’Sullivan and Seamus Fox headed off to the games in Cobh with little hope. However they won their first medals, beating Ballintemple 10-1 in the preliminary round. They tired in the semi-final and lost 5-2 to Youghal who had not played a preliminary game.

“Town” applied for affiliation to the IRFU in 1996 and this was granted after interview. We went on to field in the Under 12 leagues in the 1996/97 season.

There was under 13 and under 12 rugby the following year and also community games involvement.

The following year John Molloy ran an under 16 team having been approached by his nephew Finbarr Murray. John went on to serve as club president and is still a very active club member.

Other longtime members who joined after the initial crew include Des O’Leary, Lisa Sheehan, Mary Nolan, Martin Sheehan, Justin Finn, Owen Mulcahy, Pat Cole, Joe Purcell and current chair Marie Meade. Paul and Edward Horgan have also made their presence felt both on and off the pitch. The club counts itself lucky to have had such tireless support over the last 20 years.

In addition to the performances of our own full teams the club has also joined with Galbally for a very successful under 18 season incorporating a trip to Wales and later with Fermoy at the same age grade.

Through the years, the club has fielded at all age grades and eventually a team consisting of home grown talent entered the Junior 3 league in 2010. After 2 years at that level and successes in cups and league, the decision was made to go up to Junior 2 grade where good league performances and three Muskerry Cup wins have followed.

2016 has proven to be the most successful so far with the Muskerry Cup in the bag and the J2 League South already won.

In addition to success on the field, the club has also been very successful on the social side, running White Collar Boxing tournaments for three years from 2012-2014. Also the club’s 2015 Halloween Party was a sell out in the Yard Bar.

Roll of Honour

2022-23 Galbally/Mitchelstown Munster Junior Challenge Shield Winners

2022-23 Galbally/Mitchelstown Munster Junior Section B Champions

2016-17 Munster Junior League Div 3 Winners
2015-16 Munster J2 League Finalists
2015-16 Munster J2 League South Winners
2015-16 Kelly Cup Finalists
2015-16 Muskerry Cup Winners
2014-15 Muskerry Cup Winners
2012-13 Muskerry Cup Winners
2011-12 McCarthy Cup Finalists
2011-12 Munster J3 League Winners